The City of York is compromised of a City Council to include the Mayor and six Council Members. Each Council Member represents a different district within the city and is voted into their position by their district.
 The City oversees three Boards which include:

  1. The Board of Zoning Appeals
  2. The Board of Architectural Review
  3. Construction Board of Adjustment & Appeals

There are two Commissions that review issues and propose regulations to the City Council: 

  1. The Tree Commission
  2. The Planning Commission